Electronic Security vs. Physical Security: A Consultant’s Job to Review

Bobby Klaiber

by:  Bobby Klaiber, Sonitrol Security Consultant (Sonitrol is a sister company of Bates Security)

One of my favorite stories about being a security consultant was when I was called to a historic building downtown Lexington to quote an access control job.  If you don’t know, access control is basically an electronic door locking system that will lock/unlock doors with a key card or fob swipe.  Part of being a security consultant is viewing the entire building – providing a complete consultation for security rather than quoting one door here or one camera there.  So after I looked at the doors that the customer wanted access control on, I asked to view all other doors that provided entry into the building.  The customer directed me to the basement where I found a door that led outside.  I opened the door to view the frame and lock, but when I tried to close it, it stuck.  The customer told me that happens often and I needed to use a little more muscle.  I tried again and the door wouldn’t budge!  At this point, I felt I was beginning to look like a weakling, so I tried a third time, possibly using more force that needed.  I ripped out the entire door and it’s frame!

Physical security is very important to your home or business!  Be sure you check your doors and windows and other vulnerable spots.  And if you are visiting a customer, like I was, let the customer open and close the doors!

 

 

 

Leave a comment